I go by Thorn here, though it’s not my name. I’m in my early 30s, a white lesbian atheist pacifist. I work a desk job and like to read and theorize. I was a serious knitter for over a decade, but put those needles down when I picked up my first English paper piecing project back in February. My partner, Lee, is in her 40s and teaches at a community college. She is black and Christian. Our daughter, Mara, is four, also black, and I take her to church, though I’ll probably only talk about that on my other blog.

We are a foster family, which is why I started blogging under a pseudonym. (In fact, I just told our worker today that we’re ready to start taking calls again when there are kids who need homes.) I don’t like to use our real names or say anything that would make it easy to hunt us down by googling, although I also make an effort not to ever say anything I wouldn’t want my caseworker to read. Honestly, if she ran across my blog it would take about half a second for her to recognize us, but strangers and internet stalkers can be weird and I try to keep a little distance because it makes my life easier. I would never post identifying photos of a child in foster care and to protect our privacy, I don’t usually post full-face photos of any of us.

That said, there aren’t a whole heck of a lot of interracial same-sex foster/adoptive couples in the Midwest and certainly not that I know here in the metropolis I call River City, so I’m not aiming to be completely unidentifiable. If someone who knows me in real life manages to find and recognize me via the blog, I appreciate knowing about that just so I know who’s keeping up with this segment of my life. I do know I have real-life friends who read what I say online and online friends who’ve become real and close to me.

I will start putting up pictures soon, once I get on the ball and start a new pseudonymous flickr account, which I’ve been meaning to do for a while. I don’t know how I’ll manage it if I get brave enough to talk more to people at the local cool quilt store or joining the local modern quilt guild, but I’ll manage. I know quilt people are generally friendly and I want to make it clear that I’m not being unfriendly by hiding my name and location, just trying to make sure I can do all the things I like to be able to do online. And I promise, o as-yet-imaginary readers, that this will soon include talking about actual sewing!

